Our Reception 

Our Reception children access the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum. They engage in inspiring topics, linked to first hand experiences, changing seasons and celebrations around the world. Within EYFS the curriculum focuses on seven areas of learning which are: 

Prime Areas:

  • Communication and Language
  • Personal Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development

Specific Areas: 

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

Each of these areas is carefully planned for to engage, promote and enhance children’s interests. They provide a balance of adult led and child initiated activities. 

All our children enjoy the daily outdoor opportunities we provide. We encourage our children to be curious independent learners, to strive to reach their potential and be respectful and appreciative of others.

Children in a class at Leagrave Primary School

Reception News

Reception Termly Curriculum Organisers